Selling Homemade Cookies In Wisconsin Can Get You Arrested
You can go to jail in Wisconsin if you sell homemade cookies.
One of my favorite fundraisers as a kid was a bake sale. All the moms in the neighbor would make their dessert specialty to help raise money for school. It was a great way to purchase tasty treats.
Here's an actual reason to be happy living in Illinois. In Wisconsin, it's illegal to sell homemade cookies and things. I'm really shocked to hear this information.
According to thrillist.com,
"In Wisconsin, you can face up to six months in jail for selling home-baked cookies."
The only other state with this law is New Jersey.
"In the Badger State, the simple act of selling freshly baked cakes and cookies is not so simple. Bakers can’t sell what they’ve created in their home kitchens. Instead, to legally operate, bakers must become licensed as either a “food processing plant” or a “retail food establishment.” Complying with the law forces farmers and home bakers to either build their own commercial-grade kitchen (which can cost upwards of $40,000 to $80,000) or rent space at a commercial kitchen, which can easily top $1,000 a month."
What makes this regulation even more ridiculous, you are allowed to sell homemade canned goods.
Currently, several organizations are trying to get the law changed. Until then, it's probably a good idea to stay in Illinois when selling your baked goods.
Video: Making Danishes at Mary's Market