If you are in the market for a new pet, please avoid these breeds of big cats in Illinois.

I know it would be cool to own a tiger like Mike Tyson in the movie "Hangover."

Unfortunately, it's illegal in Illinois to own one.

In fact, there are 11 types of big cats you can't have as a pet in our state.

According to bigcatrescue.org, the list includes...

  1. Lion
  2. Tiger
  3. Leopard
  4. Ocelot
  5. Jaguar
  6. Cheetah
  7. Margay
  8. Mountain Lion
  9. Lynx
  10. Bobcat
  11. Jaguarundi

So, you can immediately scratch them off from your possibilities.

The official Illinois law states...

"No person may possess any dangerous animal, defined to include a lion, tiger, leopard, ocelot, jaguar, cheetah, margay, mountain lion, lynx, bobcat, or jaguarundi, except at a properly maintained zoological park, federally licensed exhibit, circus, scientific or educational institution, research laboratory, veterinary hospital, hound running area, or animal refuge."

I suggest sticking with a normal house cat.


Video: Classic Rock Smackdown - How Good Are You at Quiet Riot Trivia?



More From 96.7 The Eagle